top of page
Search

Our Experiences: Becoming a Beacon of Hope and Victory!


Hello everyone, I’m Umang and have been practising Nichiren Buddhism since childhood. I’m a 4th year Computer Science student at the University of Waterloo, Canada. I’m an international student from New Delhi, India and will be sharing my recent victory with you all.


A few weeks back, me and my parents were down with COVID. I was particularly stressed as after a few days of testing positive, I had to write my final exams for my online study term. I couldn’t study much due to the high fever and fatigue but I tired to keep a positive mindset. I was chanting in my mind for me and my parents to recover quickly and for me to do well in my exams.

Fortunately, my fever went away a day before I had to write my exams. I was able to prepare for my exams and successfully completed my study term. Me and my parents have also recovered from COVID with no complications.


I had plans of travelling back to Canada for my summer internship but couldn’t do so due to the travel ban between India and Canada. I was really stressed about the whole situation as I wasn’t allowed to do my internship remotely from Delhi due the company policy. Due to the uncertainty in the COVID situation, I feared that my internship might be cancelled.


I was particularly chanting for the best solution to come to mind regarding my internship. I was encouraged by the following guidance from April 2021 Value Creation taken from “Hope is Within You”.

“Faith is the struggle to continue believing in our potential, our possibilities, to the very end. Chanting Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo strengthens the power of hope that lies within us. Those who live wth this spirit of challenge will not fail to shine as treasure towers of happiness and victory.”

I got the wisdom of contacting one of the companies I had previously done my internship with and they were okay with me working remotely from Delhi. I’m happy to announce that I had started my summer internship in early May and it’s been going good.

Recently, it was announced that the flights from Delhi to Canada were suspended till June 21st. I was even more grateful to the Ghonzon on hearing this news as I could take the right decision with regard to my internship.


I’m determined to become the beacon of hope and victory as part of the May 3rd campaign by encouraging my fellow members, achieving my daily daimoku targets, set daily targets for studying the NHR, doing my best in my internship and my role as a Treasurer at the University of Waterloo SGI club.



Thank You!



19 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page